Do you need a license for Airbnb in Florida? (2024)

Do I need a license to host Airbnb in Florida?

Hosted Rentals (short-term rentals while the host remains in the home) are not regulated by DBPR. Renting a single room or rooms other than the whole unit is not classified as a public lodging and would not require a license from DBPR.

(Video) What you need to know about Airbnb Laws in Southwest Florida
(The REAL SWFL Real Estate Market)
Do I need a license to Airbnb my house?

In many cities, you must register, get a permit, or obtain a licence before you list your property or accept guests. Certain types of short-term bookings may be prohibited altogether. Local governments vary greatly in how they enforce these laws. Penalties may include fines or other enforcement.

(Video) Do I Need A Business License To Run An Airbnb?
(Noelle Randall)
Do you need a license to manage short term rentals in Florida?

In addition to state tax registration, Florida requires all vacation rentals to be licensed through the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR).

(Video) How to Do Airbnb's in Miami in 2022 Without Getting Fined
(Amit Bhuta)
Can you Airbnb your home in Florida?

As a general rule of thumb, all hosts should assume they must have a license to operate a short-term rental in Florida. Florida requires that anyone renting an entire unit for more than three times in a calendar year, for periods of less than 30 days or 1 month, must acquire a license.

(Video) AirBnB/Short Term Rental Florida Law Master Class with Michael Guju
(Al Nicoletti)
Do I need a license to rent out my property in Florida?

Assuming you have the okay from your town to list your home on Airbnb or another vacation rental website, the next thing you'll need to do is get a license from the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulations (DBPR). This is a legal requirement in the State of Florida.

(Video) Understanding Airbnb Regulations in your Area
(James Svetec)
What counties in Florida allow Airbnb?

They can now operate the rentals along with the following counties: Hillsborough, Pinellas, Hernando, and Citrus, Sarasota, Manatee, Highlands and DeSoto counties. As of Thursday, 50 of Florida's 67 counties have been approved to operate short-term rentals.

(Video) Do I need a license to be a Property Manager?
(Matt Easton)
How do I start an Airbnb business in Florida?

How to Start an Airbnb Business If You Don't Own Property
  1. Decide on Your Budget. ...
  2. Choose Your Rental Market. ...
  3. Name Your New Airbnb Host Business. ...
  4. Form a Legal Business Entity. ...
  5. Get Your Taxes in Order. ...
  6. Choose a Location. ...
  7. Sort Out Permits and Licenses. ...
  8. Open a Business Bank Account.
Nov 2, 2021

(Video) Watch This Before You Get An LLC For Airbnb | LLC Q&A
(Greg Pimentel)
Can I stop my neighbor from running an Airbnb?

If she cannot control her guests, call 311 to file complaints to the Fire Department, the Department of Buildings, and the Department of Housing Preservation and Development. Report the problem to Airbnb, which has a platform where neighbors can report problems with noise, trash and safety.

(Video) Do I need a business license to run an airbnb?
(Mike Fritz)
How do I start an Airbnb business without my own property?

Top 10 Ways to Start Making Money on Airbnb without Owning a Property
  1. Take the Airbnb Rental Arbitrage Route. ...
  2. Become a Short-term Rental Property Manager. ...
  3. Become a Co-host to an Airbnb host. ...
  4. Join a Vacation Rental Franchise. ...
  5. Become an Airbnb Consultant. ...
  6. Start an Airbnb Cleaning Service. ...
  7. Host an Airbnb Experience.
Oct 22, 2021

(Video) Applying for a short term rental license for a vacation rental.
(millin360)
What can an unlicensed property manager do in Florida?

appraises, auctions, sells, exchanges, buys, rents, or offers, attempts or agrees to appraise, auction, or negotiate the sale, exchange, purchase, or rental of business enterprises or business opportunities or any real property or any interest in or concerning the same, including mineral rights or leases, or.

(Video) Airbnb - How to Get Started; Orlando & Central Fl. Vacation Homes
(Orlando & Central Fl. Vacation Homes)

What counties in Florida are allowing short-term rentals?

So far, the agency's website states that Bay, Escambia, Okaloosa, Franklin, Gulf, Walton and Santa Rosa counties are all approved.

(Video) Can you do Airbnb/VRBO in Key West and Fl Keys? What's a Transient License!?
(Leila Alieva - The Realtor)
How much does a vacation rental license cost in Florida?

The new Short-Term Vacation Rental License is $100 for an initial application and a Local Business Tax Receipt is $110 (includes $10 application fee). These fees are applied until September 30, 2019.

Do you need a license for Airbnb in Florida? (2024)
What taxes does Airbnb collect in Florida?

The State imposes both a statewide 6% tax and a local 0.5-1.5% tax, which varies by county. For detailed information, visit the Florida Dept. of Revenue website. County Tourist Development Taxes collected by the State: 2-5% of the listing price including any cleaning fee for reservations 182 nights and shorter.

Is Airbnb considered commercial use in Florida?

Short term rentals (such as Airbnb) held not to violate a covenant prohibiting "commercial use" contrary to rulings of some other courts.

How do I start a short-term rental in Florida?

A complete application for one of these certificates includes:
  1. A short term Vacation Rental Certificate Affidavit.
  2. Local STR business tax forms.
  3. Local tax receipt and tourist tax registration form for Duval County.
  4. Evidence of your Florida Department of Revenue Certificate and DBPR License.

How do I start an Airbnb business in Florida?

How to Start an Airbnb Business If You Don't Own Property
  1. Decide on Your Budget. ...
  2. Choose Your Rental Market. ...
  3. Name Your New Airbnb Host Business. ...
  4. Form a Legal Business Entity. ...
  5. Get Your Taxes in Order. ...
  6. Choose a Location. ...
  7. Sort Out Permits and Licenses. ...
  8. Open a Business Bank Account.
Nov 2, 2021

Is Airbnb considered commercial use in Florida?

Short term rentals (such as Airbnb) held not to violate a covenant prohibiting "commercial use" contrary to rulings of some other courts.

How do I start a short-term rental in Florida?

A complete application for one of these certificates includes:
  1. A short term Vacation Rental Certificate Affidavit.
  2. Local STR business tax forms.
  3. Local tax receipt and tourist tax registration form for Duval County.
  4. Evidence of your Florida Department of Revenue Certificate and DBPR License.

How do I start an Airbnb rental?

How to start an Airbnb business
  1. Find out if you need permission. Get the proper permission from your landlord, co-op board or homeowners association, if relevant. ...
  2. Find and prepare your Airbnb space. ...
  3. Set your price. ...
  4. List your space. ...
  5. Hire or enlist some help (a co-host) ...
  6. Host an Airbnb experience.
Mar 21, 2022

You might also like
Popular posts
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Virgilio Hermann JD

Last Updated: 18/06/2024

Views: 6209

Rating: 4 / 5 (61 voted)

Reviews: 84% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Virgilio Hermann JD

Birthday: 1997-12-21

Address: 6946 Schoen Cove, Sipesshire, MO 55944

Phone: +3763365785260

Job: Accounting Engineer

Hobby: Web surfing, Rafting, Dowsing, Stand-up comedy, Ghost hunting, Swimming, Amateur radio

Introduction: My name is Virgilio Hermann JD, I am a fine, gifted, beautiful, encouraging, kind, talented, zealous person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.