What is CPM and How Do You Calculate It? | El Toro (2024)

Understanding CPMs

When purchasing a planned media buy, a term that you will encounter often is “CPM.” Those unfamiliar with the CPM model sometimes mistakenly think that the “M” in “CPM” stands for “million” while in reality the “M” stands for the Roman numeral for “thousand” (1,000). So “CPM” literally means “Cost per thousand.”

Calculating CPMs

When calculating CPMs there are three numbers that you will continually use:

  • Total number of impressions
  • The CPM itself
  • Total cost of campaign

To determine a CPM, the cost of campaign, or the number of impressions, all you need is two of the three aforementioned metrics. Below are the formulas to solve any CPM-related questions:

  • (Total number of Impressions / 1000) * CPM = Total cost of campaign
  • (Total cost of campaign / CPM) * 1000 = Total number of impressions
  • Total cost of campaign / (Total number of impressions / 1000) = CPM

When manually calculating CPMs, the cost per thousand is written as a total like this: $25CPM

A $25CPM basically means that you will be purchasing advertisem*nts for 2.5 cents each. So if you have a campaign goal of purchasing 100,000 impressions at a $25CPM, then the math looks like this:

(100,000/1000) * 25 = $2,500 Total cost of campaign.

To quickly and easily calculate the CPM of your campaigns, please CLICK HERE to use our free cpm calculator.

What is CPM and How Do You Calculate It? | El Toro (2024)

FAQs

What is CPM and How Do You Calculate It? | El Toro? ›

At El Toro, we calculate campaign costs based on CPMs (cost per milli), which is the price per thousand impressions. To calculate campaign costs, simply multiply your CPM by the number impressions and divide it by 1,000. Calculate CPMs, total number of impressions, and the cost of a campaign with the CPM calculator.

What is CPM and how do you calculate it? ›

How to calculate cost per thousand. To calculate your CPM rate, you need to take the total cost of your online advertising divided by the total number of impressions and times 1000. For example, if your ad campaign costs you $500 for 100 000 impressions, your CPM would be $5.

What is calculated in CPM? ›

CPM, or cost per thousand, refers to the cost of a marketing campaign that reaches at least 1000 people. The letter "M" in the term refers to the Roman numeral for 1000. In order to calculate your CPM, there are a few crucial pieces of information that you need.

How do you calculate CPM exercise? ›

To calculate CPM, you need to divide the total cost of the ad campaign by the number of impressions generated and then multiply it by 1000. Q2. What is the CPM Formula? The CPM formula is (Total Cost of Campaign / Total Impressions) x 1000.

What does $25 CPM mean? ›

A $25CPM basically means that you will be purchasing advertisem*nts for 2.5 cents each. So if you have a campaign goal of purchasing 100,000 impressions at a $25CPM, then the math looks like this: (100,000/1000) * 25 = $2,500 Total cost of campaign.

What's a good CPM? ›

For example, if you are in a very competitive industry with high ad costs, a CPM of $10 or $15 may be considered good. On the other hand, if you are in a less competitive industry, a CPM of $5 or less may be more appropriate. Ultimately, a good CPM is one that is in line with your campaign goals and budget.

Why do we calculate CPM? ›

CPM is a metric generally used in two ways: it can help companies measure how efficient their advertising is by telling them how much money is paid for 1,000 views of their website ad, and it can represent how much a digital publisher charges for advertising space.

How much is 1,000 impressions worth? ›

In general, if you have an average paying keyword niche, then you can expect your average rate of 1000 ad impression from USA to be around $7-10. But the same rate for 1000 ad impression from India would be: $0.5-2.

What does $15 CPM mean? ›

The formula to calculate CPM is budget divided by impressions multiplied by 1,000. Let's say your budget is $3,000 and you want to make 200,000 impressions. Using the formula, you'll divide 3,000 by 200,000 to get 0.015. Multiply by 1,000 and your cost per mille is $15.

What does 500 CPM mean? ›

In online advertising and digital marketing, CPM is the cost-per-thousand-impressions or simply the price a marketer would pay to receive 1,000 campaign impressions. CPM actually stands for “cost per mille” — not like a rental car's cost per mile, but cost per mille with two Ls — which means “thousand” in Latin.

What is the formula for average CPM? ›

How do you calculate the average CPM? As the name suggest, you simply need to divide your average advertising cost by your average number of impressions, multiplied by a thousand. Average CPM formula: CPM = 1000 * cost / impressions.

What does 7 CPM mean? ›

CPM stands for cost per mille, or cost per thousand impressions (“mille” is Latin for “thousands”). CPM refers to the average cost of one thousand ad impressions or the average amount you pay every thousand times internet browsers load your ad.

How do you calculate CPM in Excel? ›

To calculate CPM in Excel, create columns for ad spend (Column B) and Impressions (Column C). In Cell D2, enter “=(B2/C2)*1000”. This will calculate your cost per thousand impressions, and can be repeated in subsequent rows for other campaigns.

What is $1 CPM? ›

CPM is the cost per thousand advertising impressions, or views of an advertisem*nt by a person. A $1 CPM means that the price of 1,000 advertising impressions is one dollar. The term “CPM” is used across digital and traditional media. It is also known as “cost per mille.”

What does CPM $10 mean? ›

CPM pricing model, cost per thousand impressions, means that the advertiser pays each time an ad is displayed. For example, if CPM is $20, the advertiser will pay $20 per one thousand times the ad is viewed, that is, every time the ad receives one thousand impressions.

What does $40 CPM mean? ›

Cost per mille (CPM) is a pricing model and metric commonly used in marketing and advertising. Also called cost per thousand impressions, CPM refers to the total ad spend for every 1,000 impressions an ad receives.

What is CPM cost per 1000 impressions? ›

The cost per thousand impressions (CPM, cost per mille) represents the total amount an advertiser pays for 1,000 impressions on their page, where “CPM impressions” mean the number of times people viewed the ad. For example, a CPM of $5 means you spend $5 for every 1,000 ad views.

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