Acquisition Premium: Difference Between Real Value and Price Paid (2024)

What Is an Acquisition Premium?

An acquisition premium is a figure that's the difference between the estimated real value of a company and the actual price paid to acquire it. An acquisition premium represents the increased cost of buying a target company during a transaction.

There is no requirement that a company pay a premium for acquiring another company; in fact, depending on the situation, it may even get a discount.

Understanding Acquisition Premiums

In an M&A scenario, the company that pays to acquire another company is known as the acquirer, and the company to be purchased or acquired is referred to as the target firm.

Reasons For Paying An Acquisition Premium

Typically, an acquiring company will pay an acquisition premium to close a deal and ward off competition.An acquisition premium might be paid, too, ifthe acquirerbelieves that the synergycreated from the acquisition will be greater than the total cost of acquiring the target company. The size of the premium often depends on various factors such as competition within the industry, the presence of other bidders,and the motivations of the buyer and seller.

In cases where the target company’s stock price falls dramatically, its product becomes obsolete,or if there are concerns about the future of its industry, the acquiring company may withdraw its offer.

How Does An Acquisition Premium Work?

When a company decides that it wants to acquire another firm, it will first attempt to estimate the real value of the target company. For example, the enterprise value of Macy’s, using data from its 2017 10-K report, is estimated at $11.81 billion. After the acquiring company determines the real value of its target, it decides how much it is willing to pay on top of the real value so as to present an attractive deal to the target firm, especially if there are other firms that are considering an acquisition.

In the example above an acquirer may decide to pay a 20% premium to buy Macy’s. Thus, the total cost it will propose would be $11.81 billion x 1.2 = $14.17 billion. If this premium offer is accepted, then the acquisition premium value will be $14.17 billion - $11.81 billion = $2.36 billion, or in percentage form, 20%.

Arriving at the Acquisition Premium

You also may use a target company's share price to arrive at the acquisition premium. For instance, ifMacy’s is currently trading at $26 per share, andan acquirer is willing to pay $33 per share for the target company’s outstanding shares, then you may calculate the acquisition premium as ($33 - $26)/$26 = 27%.

However, not every company pays a premium for an acquisition intentionally.

Using our price-per-share example, let's assume that there was no premium offer on the table and the agreed-upon acquisition cost was $26 per share. If the value of the company drops to $16 before the acquisition becomes final, the acquirer will find itself paying a premium of ($26 - $16)/$16 = 62.5%.

Key Takeaways

  • An acquisition premium is a figure that's the difference between the estimated real value of a company and the actual price paid to acquire it in an .
  • In financial accounting, the acquisition premium is recorded on the balance sheet as "goodwill."
  • An acquiring company is not required to pay a premium for purchasing a target company, and it may even get a discount.

Acquisition Premiums in Financial Accounting

In financial accounting, the acquisition premium is known as goodwill—the portion of the purchase price that is higher than the sum of the net fair value of all of the assets purchased in the acquisition and the liabilities assumed in the process.The acquiring company records goodwill as a separate account on its balance sheet.

Goodwill factors in intangible assets like the value of a target company's brand, solid customer base, good customer relations, healthy employee relations,and any patents or proprietary technology acquired from the target company. An adverse event, such as declining cash flows, economic depression, increased competitive environment and the like can lead to an impairment of goodwill, which occurs when the market value of the target company's intangible assets drops below its acquisition cost. Any impairment results in a decrease in goodwill on the balance sheet and shows as a loss on the income statement.

An acquirer can purchase a target company for a discount, that is, for less than its fair value. When this occurs, negative goodwill is recognized.

Acquisition Premium: Difference Between Real Value and Price Paid (2024)

FAQs

Acquisition Premium: Difference Between Real Value and Price Paid? ›

An acquisition premium is a figure that's the difference between the estimated real value of a company and the actual price paid to acquire it. An acquisition premium represents the increased cost of buying a target company during a merger and acquisition (M&A) transaction.

What determines acquisition premium? ›

Acquisition premium is the difference between the price paid for a target company in a merger or acquisition and the target's assessed market value. It represents the excess amount over the fair value of all identifiable assets paid by an acquiring company.

How do you determine the price of an acquisition? ›

In other words, a company's acquisition price is the total sum of monetary value paid in order to acquire the company. This is determined based on a combination of factors, such as the value of the target company, the stage of the company and the circ*mstances surrounding the acquisition.

What is the average acquisition premium? ›

Acquisition premiums, on average, held steady (24.1% in 2018 versus 24.6% in 2017). In the first half of 2019, they rose to 31.2%—slightly above the long-term average of 30.6%. (See Exhibit 3.) The past ten years have been relatively good times for dealmakers.

What is a premium over market value? ›

A “purchase premium” in the context of mergers and acquisitions refers to the excess that an acquirer pays over the market trading value of the shares being acquired.

Who benefits the most from the acquisition premium valued during an acquisition? ›

Answer 8: The shareholders of the target firm benefit the most from the acquisition premium valued d...

What is the highest acquisition premium ever? ›

As of February 2024, the largest ever acquisition was the 1999 takeover of Mannesmann by Vodafone Airtouch plc at $183 billion ($334.7 billion adjusted for inflation).

What is acquisition price based on? ›

The main components of acquisition costs typically include the purchase price of the asset, any transportation or shipping costs associated with acquiring the asset, installation or setup fees, legal and administrative expenses, and any additional costs necessary to bring the asset into use.

Is acquisition cost the same as purchase price? ›

The acquisition cost should be distinguished from the purchase price. Although generally, they may be equivalent, the acquisition cost includes other costs associated with an acquisition, in addition to the purchase price.

What is a good acquisition rate? ›

What is a good customer acquisition cost? A good cost per acquisition is lower than your customer lifetime value (CLV), ideally about 3 times lower. So if your customer lifetime value is 15$ and your customer acquisition cost is 5$ or less, it's pretty good.

What is a typical control premium in M&A? ›

A control premium can be a significant amount – typically between 20% and 40% of over the traded share price – and can escalate in times of uncertainty. When a buyer pays a control premium, they are essentially saying that they can create greater value in the company by gaining control over the decision-making process.

Should I sell stock after acquisition? ›

It's rarely worth holding on to your shares long after the announcement of an all-cash acquisition. For stock or cash-and-stock deals, your decision to hold or sell should be based on whether you have any desire to be a shareholder in the acquiring company.

What is the difference between value pricing and premium pricing? ›

Value pricing is an abbreviated version of the premium pricing strategy. Put simply, value-priced products are priced a bit lower than premium products because they face moderate market competition.

How do you calculate premium on a price? ›

The price premium is also known as relative price. The general formula for price premium is as follows: Price Premium= Your brand's price - Competitor's price (benchmark price) / Competitor's price (benchmark price) x 100.

What is an example of a premium value? ›

The best examples of premium pricing are premium brands in the fashion and tech industry. Some of the biggest names that rely on premium pricing to indicate their products are luxury goods Rolex, Chanel, Gucci, Apple, etc.

What are the criteria for acquisition? ›

Measurable Customer Life Time Value with clear revenue levers, Effective go-to market strategy with clear Cost of Acquisition and retention plans, view on its Path to Profitability (medium to long-term) and capital structure to support (debt/equity).

What is the formula for the premium offered in a takeover offer? ›

Calculation of acquisition premium

A transaction's acquisition premium may be estimated by dividing the difference between the amount per share spent by the purchasing company and the target company's existing cost per share by the cost per share of the target firm at the time of the deal.

What is a control premium in an acquisition? ›

Control premium refers to an amount that a buyer is willing to pay in excess of the fair market value of shares in order to gain a controlling ownership interest in a publicly traded company.

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